We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content


The English Bowling Federation was formed in 1945, although the grass roots of the Federation may well be traced back some 53 years earlier to the North-East of England. At this time the Northumberland and Durham Bowling Association was formed when four Newcastle Public Park Clubs formed an alliance, adapting rules which differed from the stronger and more popular EBA.

News of the "breakaway" spread to the East Midlands, and the less stringent "Laws of the Game" with regard to the condition of bowling greens - the use of ditches and banks was not compulsory (in effect any reasonable grassed and level area was considered suitable) - together with a flexibility in hours of play, was a boon to a work force then working much longer hours than today.

In 1925 Lincolnshire formed an Association, and in Norfolk the game caught on with many public houses providing greens, rather as the Crown Green code had done some thirty or more years earlier. In 1926 Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and Norfolk formed the Midland and East Anglian Bowling Association, and it can reasonably be assumed that from this union the EBF of today developed.

Interest spread and in 1929 Northamptonshire, Derbyshire and Suffolk came into the fold, to be followed by first Durham and then, in 1936, by their northern neighbours Northumberland. In 1945 this amalgamation of Counties tbecame the English Bowling Federation.

The English Women's Bowling Federation came into being in 1957 and the two federations enjoy the unique distinction of remaining separate units but with one governing body. There are now thirteen counties in membership - of both EBF and EWBF - running down the Eastern side of England and stretching from Northumberland down to North Essex. Those Counties are; Cleveland, Derbyshire, Durham, Humberside, Huntingdonshire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, north Cambridgeshire, north Essex, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire and Suffolk. 

The Federations have always held dual Championship Weeks when Men’s and Women's Finals are held side by side.

The Outdoor Finals are played in August at Skegness and consist of ten Men’s, ten Ladies' and four Mixed events; in addition there are two Men’s, two Mixed and two Ladies' Team Events which are played between the Northern and Southern section winners. 2006 was the Federation's 50th successive visit to the popular Lincolnshire resort and with more than 15,000 competitors entering the 'Nationals' yearly, the affairs of the joint bodies are healthy indeed.

Information from EBF and EWBF website.