We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content

Boor & Wainwright Shield Competition

Stamford & District Bowls League Boor & Wainwright Shield Competition

The Boor & Wainwright Shield is competed for annually by all the teams registered in the Stamford & District Bowls League.


Two teams of 9 registered players compete on three rinks, playing 21 ends (plus 2 trial ends) of two-wood triples to EBF rules. The teams are handicapped according to their positions in the league divisions at the start of the season.

The first stage is a round-robin, with teams drawn in groups. For 2024, there are 4 groups, three with 7 teams and one with six teams. Each team plays every other team in the same group once, at the green of the home-drawn team.

The top eight teams go forward to the quarter finals. The quarter finals and semi-finals are played on a knock-out basis, with play-by dates  (to be decided) for each stage.

For 2024, the top 2 teams in each of the 4 groups will go forward to the quarter finals. The draw will be published after all the results have been entered.

Reminder: Having once played in any round of the competition a player shall then be “cup-tied” to any other competing team. Players registered for another team within the club are not eligible.


The final will be played at Langtoft Bowls Club on Saturday 24th August 2024 at 2.00 pm.

The winning team will be presented with the Boor & Wainwright Shield, to be held for one year.

For full details, see the 'Boor & Wainwright Shield' tab under 'League Rules'.

2023 finalists: President Rita Downs with Bourne Wood (winners) and Stamford Town D (runners up) 2023 finalists: President Rita Downs with Bourne Wood (winners) and Stamford Town D (runners up)